Grand Canyon Reader Award

 This award is sponsored by the Arizona Library Association

The Grand Canyon Reader Award  is a reader award program for students in Arizona. Students vote annually on their favorite book in the following categories: Picture, Non-Fiction, Intermediate, and Tween.

Kerrlita Westrick and Shirley Berow are the Co-chairs of the Grand Canyon Reader Award Committee. If you are interested in becoming a member of the selection committee for the 2025 nominees or have questions about the Grand Canyon Reader Award, please e-mail To be on the committee it is recommended that you are a member of the Arizona Library Association.

See the links on the left for further information. Let us know if you can't find what you're looking for.


Announcement:  On November 6, National Nachos Day, Sandra Nickel will do a presentation for all students in Arizona.  It will happen at 10:00 am.  There will be more information coming shortly with a link to the live presentation!  We hope you will be able to attend.  Her book "Nacho's Nachos!"  is nominated in the nonfiction category. 

The 2024 Nominee list 

Would you like some tips on how to use the Grand Canyon Reader Award books in your library or classroom??  Please contact us using the link on the left and we will set up a personal consultation with you on tips and tricks.

Do you need some suggestions on using the GCRA books in your library?  Here is a link from another state with suggestions on how they use their state reader books.

Video for the Picture Books by The Maricopa County Library District

Posters for the 2024 Nominees

From Follett

From Mackin

From Bound To Stay Bound

From PermaBound